Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 29th, 2008

Summer Memories

One of my favorite memories of my childhood summers is visiting the bookmobile to check out books to read.   Our small town didn’t have a library and the closest one was thirty miles away, so every summer the bookmobile would come every other week and park in front of our neighbor’s house.  This particular neighbor lived in what I guess would be considered the middle of town and we would walk there from our house. 

I remember I always went barefoot during the summer when I was a kid, and walking to the bookmobile was an adventure.   The sand was always so hot, and inevitably I would step on a sand spur on the way there, but once I got to the bookmobile and stepped up inside, the cool tile floor felt so good to my feet.  We didn’t have air conditioning in our home when I was young, not many people we knew did back then, so it was a real treat to go inside the bookmobile and feel the cold air blowing on me.

I’ve always loved to read, so I would check out the maximum number of books allowed and read them all (most of them twice) before the bookmobile came again.  I couldn’t wait to go on adventures with Nancy Drew, step through the wardrobe with the children in The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, and learn about the life of migrant workers through the story of Strawberry Girl. 

The wonderful memories of summer reading have stayed with me throughout my life, and there is still something very special about visiting the library on a hot summer’s day to check out books to enjoy.  During the school year I’m busy reading, studying, and researching topics for homeschooling, so summer is my time to relax with a good book and read just for me.

I’d love to hear about your special summer memories, you can leave me a comment and/or a link to your blog if you’ve written a similar post!

Have a great night!

Love, Velvia

Read Full Post »